Building Universal Windows Platform (UWP) App for Windows 10

You may have noticed it’s been a long time since I posted on this blog.
As a matter of fact, I have been really busy working on expanding our Middleware as a Service Platform at Moskitos.

At the same time, since the unveiling of Windows 10, I have been really excited about Universal Windows apps and wanted to contribute some ideas on this.
Although my day to day job is still very much grounded in the fields of Integration and Azure, I would like to primarily focus my interest around building Apps for the Windows 10 Universal Windows Platform on my spare time.

Announcing the Safety Box App

To this end, I’m setting up an open-source project on GitHub.
The purpose of the SafetyBox App is to be a Universal client for KeePass .kdbx database files.

I have been a long time user of the iPhone where one of the best password manager app is AgileBits’ 1Password.
Since I recently switched to using a Windows Phone, I figured I’d use a similar app from the store. However, I found the offering to be very poor. I found that the 1Password app only works in read-only mode and is lacking compared to its iOS counterpart. So I switched to using KeePass at the same time. Again, there are a couple of applications in the Store for KeePass, but they are either old or not as feature-rich as I may like them to be. Additionally, I think the user experience for these apps can be improved.

That’s why I decided to share my contributions as an open-source project.

Since I’m new to building XAML apps – I must have lived on another planet during the Silverlight and Windows 8 eras – I have a a lot to learn!
Anyway, I have reserved a name in the Windows Store and this blog will record my attempt at publishing the application to the Windows Store in due course…

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in UWP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

